Redlands (poem)

Redlands

by Dauphine Sb

*

I do get vertigo. When the oil runs out, we shall go to our cabin on the lake,

and I should be 60 or 70 then. When the oil runs out I will get vertigo

thinking about ways to protect my children—but they will be

thinking about ways to protect me.

We have a deed. Maybe deeds won’t

matter anymore. When I say the oil

“runs out”, it’s a figure of speech. There will

be a little oil left. But most people

will make do without. My children

will bicycle the seven miles into town

for rice and flour and batteries.

We await their return, keeping busy by scuttling

the old speedboat close to the dock. Up to our knees

in the warm water, the baking sun. How swiftly the clouds

clog the sky.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

